Appeals

Overview

Assessment Appeals can be filed with the Bergen County Board of Taxation. Forms and instructions may be obtained by contacting the Board at:

  • Bergen County Board of Taxation
    Two Bergen County Plaza - 1st Floor
    Hackensack, NJ 07601-7076
    Phone: 201-336-6300
    Board of Taxation's website

Forms may also be obtained from the Division of Taxation:

If your assessed value exceeds $1,000,000, you have the option of filing your appeal directly with the Tax Court of New Jersey. Information for filing a complaint with the Tax Court may be obtained by contacting the Court at:

Tax Court of New Jersey
P.O. Box 972
Hughes Justice Complex
Trenton, NJ 08625
Tax Court's website

Assessments appeals must be filed on or before April 1st of the current year, or 45 days from the date that the Assessments Notices were mailed, whichever is later.

Please Note: Information on this website was developed to assist taxpayers in preparing for tax assessment appeal hearings. It is intended to be an aid to property owners, but should not be considered as all-inclusive. The general information provided is derived from New Jersey laws governing property assessment appeals: NJ.S.A. 54:3 et seq. and NJ.A.C. 18:12A et seq. This information is not intended to provide legal advice; taxpayer should rely on professional help if necessary.

Written on 30 December 2015.

Related Documents